Loading Events

Brahms’ Magnum Opus

Saturday, August 15, 2020, 6:30 PM MDT

Online broadcast at svmusicfestival.org

Alasdair Neale, Music Director

Note: this concert broadcast is no longer available to watch, but information such as repertoire and program notes are still available below. All 2020 Summer Season concert broadcasts were available for viewing live during the scheduled concert date and time only (not on demand).


Piano Quintet in F Minor, Op. 34

Allegro non troppo
Andante, un poco adagio
Scherzo: Allegro
Finale: Poco sostenuto–Allegro non troppo

Erin Schreiber, Violin
Shawn Weil, Violin
Shannon Williams, Viola
Bjorn Ranheim, Cello
Peter Henderson, Piano

Brahms' Magnum Opus program notes

In an 1865 letter to Brahms, Hungarian violinist and lifelong friend, Joseph Joachim writes that the F minor quintet is a “masterpiece of chamber music, the likes of which we have not seen since the year 1828.” That was the year of Schubert’s death, and indeed Brahms may have been drawing on the inspiration of his Viennese predecessor while composing his quintet. ...

Read full program notes

2020 digital program book

Printed programs are available on concert days from 5-8 PM at the Festival Store at the Sun Valley Pavilion, or outside the Festival office at 120 2nd, Ave. North, Ketchum.


Online broadcast at svmusicfestival.org